Trouble viewing this email? Go here.


News Release – June 7, 2016
Kathleen Murphy | President and CEO | 443.837.1601 |
Cindy Gentilcore | Senior Vice President, COO | 443.837.1602 |

Swygert Elected 121st Chairman of Maryland Bankers Association 

George D. Swygert, Jr
., Regional Executive, Capital One, N.A., was  elected 2016-2017 Chairman of the Maryland Bankers Association (MBA) at MBA’s 120th Annual Convention on June 7, 2016. 

The Maryland Bankers Association (MBA) is the only professional association representing the banking industry in Maryland.  Founded in 1896, MBA’s mission is to make Maryland banks stronger and more successful.  As the MBA’s 121st Chairman, Swygert will play a key role in representing the members’ interests to policy makers at the state and federal levels.  He will also lead the Association’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee and work directly with the MBA’s President and CEO on all matters relating to the banking industry. 

For his 12-month term of office, Swygert will lead the MBA in the second year of a three year strategic plan designed towards “Promoting the strength and success of Maryland banks and bankers.”  He will address this theme through three strategic priorities which encompass making a greater impact through broader banker engagement; achieving advocacy success at the State and federal levels; and offering relevant and timely education and services that equip members for success in a rapidly changing world. 

According to the Association’s President and CEO Kathleen Murphy, "With George Swygert's leadership, the industry will be well represented by a dedicated bank executive who knows the fabric of our State and values the role that banks of all sizes provide in communities across Maryland.  He brings energy and enthusiasm to propel the MBA as it begins its 121st year." 

George D. Swygert, Jr. is currently a Regional Executive in Local Distribution for Capital One Bank. He oversees a team of 6 District Managers covering the company’s Washington, DC, Maryland and Delaware retail footprint and is responsible for leading the day-to-day sales and service operations of the region’s network of 104 branches.  Swygert joined Capital One in February 2012. Prior to joining Capital One, he worked at Wells Fargo Bank for more than 20 years, in leadership positions of increasing responsibility. Swygert currently serves on several boards including The Phillips Collection and the Prevent Cancer Foundation.  Born and raised in Salisbury, North Carolina, he received his BS in Business from the University of North Carolina Charlotte in Charlotte, NC. 

The Maryland Bankers Association also welcomed to its Board of Directors:  Joe Clarke, Senior Vice President, Chief Deposit Sales Officer, EagleBank; Robert E. Goetz, Jr., President, Middletown Valley Bank; Gilbert F. Kennedy, III, President and CEO, Colombo Bank; Elected to the board’s Executive Committee as Vice Chairman is Kenneth C. Cook, Co-President & CEO, Revere Bank ; and Ralph W. Emerson, Jr., Senior Vice President, M&T Bank, is serving as the Chairman-Elect of the Association. 

Below is a complete listing of the 2016-2017 officers and directors of the Maryland Bankers Association:

George D. Swygert, Jr
., Regional Executive, Capital One, N.A


Ralph W. Emerson
, Jr., Senior Vice President, M&T Bank

Vice Chairman

Kenneth C. Cook
, Co-President & CEO, Revere Bank

Immediate Past-Chairman

Daniel J. Schrider
, President and CEO, Sandy Spring Bank

Board of Directors

James M. Anthony
, Chief Operating Officer, Severn Savings Bank
Andrew M. Bertamini
, Regional President, Maryland Market, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. 
James R. Bosley, Jr., President and CEO, Farmers & Merchants Bank
Joe Clarke, Senior Vice President, Chief Deposit Sales Officer, EagleBank
Sam DiPaola, President, Maryland Region, SunTrust Bank, Inc.
BJ Goetz, President, Middletown Valley Bank
Raymond W. Hamm, Jr., Executive Vice President, Market Executive for Greater Maryland, PNC Bank, N.A. , 
Gilbert F. Kennedy, III, President and CEO, Colombo Bank
Kim Liddell, Chairman, President and CEO, 1880 Bank
William J. Pasenelli, President and CEO, Community Bank of the Chesapeake
Carissa L. Rodeheaver, Chairman, CEO and President, First United Bank & Trust
John Scaldara, Chairman and CEO, The Columbia Bank
Raymond M. Thompson, President and CEO, Calvin B. Taylor Banking Company

To view MBA's Press Release click here

Maryland banks hold $120 billion in deposits and employ 40,000 banking professionals.  Ninety-  nine percent of the banks in Maryland are well capitalized, the highest regulatory designation.  MBA’s member banks hold 99 percent of the FDIC insured deposits in Maryland in nearly 1,800 branch offices.  MBA serves member banks as a legislative and regulatory advocate at all levels of government, as the public relations voice for the industry, as a provider of professional education to members and as a promoter of financial education to the community. 



You received this message because you have signed up for the Maryland Bankers Association email newsletter. Click here to unsubscribe.

Copyright © 2010 Maryland Bankers Association
186 Duke of Gloucester Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-269-5977 | Fax 410-269-1874 | Email


Member Management Solution